Deceit cover 06F3_new.jpg
  • Modern and Contemporary Fiction

  • ISBN: 9781925384536

  • Published: 1 July 2018

  • AU Price: $29.99

Available from:

And many more bookshops and online retailers.

Deceit: Episode One of Democracy Trilogy

By Richard Evans

An Australian political thriller for fans of House of Cards, written by a former federal politician, reimagines a side of Canberra politics where corruption, power and truth collide.

Corrupt Prime Minister Andrew Gerrard has engaged in a covert agreement with the Indonesian president to begin building himself a retirement nest egg – if the Australian government agrees to fund offshore immigration detention centres.

When his plans are disrupted by a tragic plane accident that kills key members of parliament, Gerrard devises a strategy to rush the entire funding scheme through the parliament within a week.

Political stalwart and soon-to-be-retired clerk of parliament, Gordon O’Brien, suspects a conspiracy to defraud the government, and reluctantly sets out to foil the prime minister’s plan with the help of young-gun investigative journalist, Anita Devlin.

The first part in the Democracy Trilogy sizzles with insider knowledge into the machinations of Australian politics. It’s a brilliant and suspenseful political thriller where corruption, power and truth collide. 


“This is an outstanding debut from Evans, and this terrific read comes highly recommended.” GOODREADS

“From former Federal MP Richard Evans comes this exceptional political thriller debut, which serves as the first part of his Democracy trilogy.” CANBERRA WEEKLY

“I adored Gordon O'Brien. Straight as an arrow amongst those who are only in things for themselves, I couldn't help but cheer him on as he was like a dog with a bone, searching out the truth…” BJ'S BOOK BLOG